Posted by: Stephen Newell | October 11, 2008

Running Tools and A New Location

Through Joe Thorn I discovered a very helpful site called MapMyRun which allows you to plot your runs and get a distance for it. I think I mentioned this tool in a previous post. That being said, I discovered something while plotting different runs on it. The block around my mother-in-law’s house is exactly a half-mile. Flat, too. I also discovered the bigger block on which the property actually sits is almost exactly a mile, with hills. Even better, both of these blocks have sidewalks. Hmm, action plan brewing.

I think I might start doing weekend runs at my mother-in-law’s from now on. This would give us (and her) an excuse to let Grace see her grandma on a regular basis, and might even get my wife to walk regularly. Her mother is a walking freak, doing regular 5k walks at least 3 or 4 days a week. I could let the girls go walking while I went off and did my run on my own. Heck, if my brother-in-law is home I might be able to convince him to run with me as well. I wonder if the family that runs together, stays together.

Okay, enough cheese.

The reason I plotted these runs is because after running my apartment loop, I liked it less as a place to start running. Oh, I will still run it, as the hill it sits on would be good for me. But I need something a little more…objective.

After that first actual run, I found myself wondering that night and most of today if a 5k isn’t doable in the near future (read: next year). Two of my wife’s cousins are runners, and one of them lives here and regularly runs a 5k. Should I challenge myself by actually signing up for one? I don’t know. I’ll have to think and pray about that.

I think tomorrow I’ll grab my new shoes and walk the half-mile block at my mother-in-law’s to get the lay of the land. I might even try running it, though I said I’d take 2 days to recover from yesterday. We will see.


Responses

  1. That’s great Stephen! Congrats on starting. Keep experimenting and find out what works best for you. Stay on it and keep blogging your experiences and progress.


Leave a comment

Categories